top of page

Living the impossible dream - Tetsujin 2017


This will probably be one of the greatest milestones in my pursue of this craft, being involved in a related event and all. I mean, sure, I have been invited to hobby related events overseas in the past. But as part of the organizing committee? Well, this was a FIRST for me.

It's kinda ironic I chose this hobby because I love to be left alone, away from people and noise. But now, I am taking baby steps learning to open up and embrace the world. At least in this hobby world.

It was one fine day where the whole group of us were discussing about the community here when the bosses of HAG/HAW were asking how can we boost the community. And one of us mentioned a full fledged competition.

It was as if the whole room lit up by the collective bulbs above our heads. I mean why not? A full fledged competition by Hobby Art Group. The last one was eons ago and in need of an update. So we decide, there and then, to do it!

And Tetsujin Competition was reborned!!!


Tetsujin 2017

You guys can't even begin to fathom how excited I was as I made my way home that night. After joining numerous competitions, I finally get to organize one and have a say in it. Being a contestant before, there are many things I feel that the official organizers can do better and I'm not talking about prizes. Because it is always about sales, sales, sales and more sales, these events are never made for the community. It has never reach out to the practitioners of the craft, those who are really passionate about it.

It was quickly established that things ain't going to be a walk in the park at the very beginning. On top of budget constraints, we were a little short in experience and manpower. It was slow moving and torturous at times. A lot of things had to be taken into consideration, re-calibrated, re-evaluate and so on.

We nailed down the categories soon enough and I thought of having Leon Ku and me to judge the entries. But I still think we need more fire power in that department and Mr Eday and Mr Joshua Darrah came to my mind immediately. I was thinking why not let this be the first event with foreign guests equipped with great technical abilities and are internationally renowned. Most importantly, I know them personally! So it's easy to talk LOL!


http://www.ver-ed.com/


http://www.joshuadarrah.com/

And after several conversations via FB, everything was cast in stone. We have two big stars gracing our event! I requested them to bring their famous works for display so that Singaporean modelers get to see them up close and personal for the first time. I also invite them to hold workshops and share their invaluable experience and knowledge to the younger generation of modelers. And hopefully inspire them to excel in GBWC and more.

I wouldn't want to bore you with all the logistic chatter and stuff. It was tough going no doubt. Nevertheless, let's jump straight into the pictures!

Venue: Bugis +


The event was held from 6 to 12 February 2017. The day before the event, we were waiting in eager for the mall to close so that we can begin the set up.

As soon as the mall closes, we swarmed the area with anticipation. The carpet, partitions, shelves, showcases were quickly set up by the contractors. And after 2 hours, we were left to manage on our own.








We had help from the local distributors and we were grateful. At 5 am in the morning, we were still arranging stocks and tying up loose ends. All of us were exhausted and in need of rest. But with the event starting in 5 hours time, we just dig in and see it through.


We opened our doors to the public amid some delay. The grouses about the minor delay were quickly dispelled upon seeing the great discounts and full stocks there. It was not long before throngs of people appeared while I wait for eagerly for the first entry submission.




The crowd was crazy! They just keep coming like endless waves of tsunami. We didn't even have time to visit the toilet!





Setting up the photo booth so that we can take proper pictures of the entries. I was believe that irregardless of the skill level, everyone put in effort to work on these entries. And the best we can do is to show some respect, care and proper attention for these entries. The photo results were satisfactory but I think we need a pro to do it the next time!







Hobbymate booth







One thing that set us apart from the local mainstream events is that we invited talented modelers from overseas to share their works and insights.

And we were thankful to have Eday of Ver. Ed (Hong Kong) and Joshua Darrah (Australia) to do just that. They conducted workshops and mingled with the crowds. Many of the folks here were seeing them for the first time and I can see how thrilled they were. It was like meeting their childhood heroes! What's more, they get to see their famous works up close and personal.

Personally, it was an eye-opener for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.







Joshua displayed many of his drawings and those were the real show stealers to me! LOL....




Even kids get mesmerized by the irrepressible Joshua Darrah!


Did you notice those intense stares at Eday's workshop? When the master talks, everyone listens! I even notice someone frantically taking notes!


Display tags for all the entries. I painstakingly cut and stick every one of them onto pla-plates that I prepared. It's something I am really proud of. I feel that contestants should be proud of their entry irregardless of the results. In my eye, everyone is already a winner simply because they dare to try and join!











Above is the gallery of the entries at the event. And below are the snippets of the crazy masterpieces by both f our esteemed guests.







The judging process was really intense. We started at 10 in the morning and by the time we're done, it was 15 minutes to 1pm! It was exhausting no doubt, we scrutinized , discussed, debated over many entries. We had to look at the entries thoroughly from top to bottom and all angles. No stone was left unturned you can say.


The trophies. Made and sculpted from crystal.

YOUTH CATEGORY RESULTS

OOB CATEGORY WINNERS

OPEN CATEGORY WINNERS

SPECIAL GUESTS PRIZES

PRIZE GIVING CEREMONY


Right after the ceremony, we barricaded the display area so that the participants can mingled with the Judges and a few of the local experts to share views, tips and to know more about how to improve from their current builds. It was a good exercise as over the years, I observe that many do not know what they were doing and have little inkling on how to move from there after each competition. They just repeat the same thing year after year.


And finally it is over! Everyone at Hobby Art heaved a collective sigh of relief. Mission accomplished! We were physically drained and mentally tired. But deep down, we were really really happy.

Why? Because we exceeded all expectations. As a small shop, we achieved the un-achievable. It was almost like a fairy tale to me. But most importantly, through this event, I came to understand more of everyone in this small humble Hobby Art group, selfless, brave and diligent.






Well, it was an epic journey for me up till now. And this marks as one of my greatest achievements as a modeler. It could have been better but I settle for good for now.

So where does this hobby takes me next? I can only wait in anticipation.

See you at the next Tetsujin!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page