top of page

One hell of a roll out!

Let me start by telling you that I am more of a Gundam fan than Transformers. But don't get me wrong, TF is great but it just ain't my cup of tea. But this Earth Mode Optimus Prime from Yolopark is a absolute stunner! When images of it released online months ago, I just couldn't forget it. I took an instance liking to it for its highly detailed parts and design.





I got it the moment it hits our stores and started assembling it. The number of parts is crazy lot and it felt daunting at first. But I took the time to understand the manual first, rearrange my workstation so that I can be more efficient and organized during assembly. Actually, I am just bullshitting. Being Toymaker, I got over-confidence and we all know this never ends well. I got stuck at the head within 2 minutes and it took me a good 30 mins before I figured out what's going on. So READ, people!

Ok, the assembly wasn't a walk in the yolopark (LOL). Though complex, I felt the PG Unleashed is more complicated and tedious. There are tons of details just for the internal frame. The build up to it is well thought of and pretty much seamless. This is by far the most detailed mecha (outside Bandai) I ever assembled. Even just assembling it, I felt a sense of achievement.


 

Here are some pointers I can give in terms of assembly.

1. Read the manual before you start. Good to get a head start by studying how the parts come together and stuff so you don't snap wrongly and need to take damn parts apart. Which brings me to point

2. Get a part separator. Trust me, you need it. And you can thank me later.

3. No, you don't need iron fingers. But just deft ones. Easy, the parts fits like a charm and you don't have to cut, shave, hammer and wake the whole neighborhood up just to get 2 parts to come together.

4. Undergate. Your best friend and possibly, your worse enemy as well. Clear all the nubs and undergated parts so you don't have to science the shit out of it just to figure out why parts don't fit. Obstruction dudes, obstruction!

5. Last but not least, have fun. Go through the process. Appreciate the level of details Yolopark brings us. And also the opportunity to work on this masterpiece.

P.s. I didn't clear the nubs..... XD


 




- Construction - Complex but you learn a lot from it
- 8/10
- Material Quality - Parts are crisp, no flashes or parts dripping with oil residual
- 7/10
- Build Quality - Not far off from Bandai, Still got room for improvement
- 7/10
- Manual - Coloured manual good for reference. Printing can be clearer
- 6/10
- Articulation - Not your RG God Gundam, but it still can take a knee for sure
- 7/10
- Design - Some LEDs would be nice. Can't fault the design, it's awesome
- 9/10
- Pricing - PG details for the price of a large MG. Need I say more?
- 10/10

Overall, this is one of the best kits I ever assembled. I learnt a lot in the process as well in terms of design, form and micro detailing. Its about 30 cm in height. That's about the height of a PG Strike Gundam.

Right now, I am mulling over the colour scheme and also how to dismantle, prime and paint considering how painstaking it was to put the parts together in the first place. Guess I will get there. Somehow.

So... Did I pique your interest? XD





Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page